Student news briefs

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Hale is awarded fellowship

ARLINGTON, Va. -- Green Forest High School alumni Nathan Andrew Hale has been awarded a Mercatus Center MA Fellowship grant at George Mason University in Arlington, Va. The fellowship grant is given to graduate students in GMU's MA Economics program.

Hale graduated from Green Forest High School in 2008 and graduated Magna Cum Laude from Arkansas Tech University in 2011, with a Bachelor of Arts Degree.

He is the son of LeAnn Barnhart of Lampe, Mo. and Andrew Hale of Green Forest.

Local students make Dean's List at College of Ozarks

POINT LOOKOUT, MO. -- Kari Petersen and Tara Williams of Berryville have been named to the College of the Ozarks spring 2012 Dean's List.

Petersen is a Berryville High School graduate and Williams is a graduate of Blue Eye High School.

To qualify for the Dean's List, students must maintain a 3.6 minimum grade point average during the semester and carry at least 15 credit hours.

Local students make Dean's List at University of Arkansas

FAYETTEVILLE -- Several students from Carroll County have been named to the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville's Dean's List for the Spring 2012 semester.

In order to be named to the Dean's List, students must carry at least 12 hours and must earn at least a 3.0 grade point average.

Following are local students on the UA Dean's List:

* Chelsea Hodge, a senior Music major from Berryville.

* Misty Holloway, a junior Elementary Education major from Eureka Springs.

* Justin Lindsey, a junior English major from Berryville.

* Summer Santella, a freshman Pre-Childhood Education major from Berryville.

* Sable Sellick, a junior Agri Education Communications & Technology major from Berryville.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: