County courthouses, ES Museum recipients of $114,000 in grants

Friday, July 3, 2009

LITTLE ROCK -- More than $114,000 in grant monies have been awarded to Carroll County entities by the the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

Carroll County received a $63,384 County Courthouse Restoration Subgrant for roof restoration at the 1880 courthouse in Berryville, and a $19,000 grant to complete restoration of the front fašade of the Eureka Springs courthouse.

The Eureka Springs Historical Museum received a $22,733 Historic Preservation Restoration Grant for roof and gutter restoration of the Calif Building in Eureka Springs. 

The City of Eureka Springs received a $9,000 Certified Local Government Grant for training and to devlop an interpretive welcome center for the Eureka Underground walking trail.

The grants are part of $1,287,097 in grants for projects in 38 counties through its County Courthouse Restoration Subgrant, Historic Preservation Restoration Grant, Certified Local Government Subgrant, Main Street Downtown Revitalization Grant, and Main Street "Slipcover" Removal Grant programs.

The Arkansas Historical Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preservinge the state's cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosic Templars Cultural Center, and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: