CCN wins top honor in state contest

Tuesday, September 29, 2020

Carroll County News

For the third time in four years, the Carroll County News won first-place honors for General Excellence in the Arkansas Press Association’s 2020 Better Newspaper editorial contest.

Competing in the Medium Weeklies division, CCN’s staff also won 19 individual awards, including 10 first place honors. The awards were announced during a virtual presentation on Friday, Sept. 25.

CCN also won first place for general excellence in 2017 and 2018.

“I can’t tell you how proud I am and how grateful I am for the opportunity to work with such talented and dedicated people,” CCN managing editor Scott Loftis said. “We are very much a team and we all work together to do what we do. The really gratifying thing is that everyone who contributes to our news and sports coverage won at least one award. And of course the most important thing is that the awards are one way we measure how well we are serving our readers by keeping them informed about their community.”

Loftis won four first-place awards — for News Story, News Political Column, General Interest Column and Headline Writing.

Associate editor Samantha Jones won first place for Humorous Column and Feature Story.

Freelance photographers David Bell and Charlie Chappell each won two first-place awards. Bell took first place for Single News Photograph and Single Feature Photograph, while Chappell won first place for Single Sports Action Photograph and Single Sports Feature Photograph.

Reporter Haley Schichtl won second place for Feature Story, while page designer Brad Stout won second place for Best Front Page Design. Jones took second place for Beat Reporting.

Former reporter Kelby Newcomb won third place for Community Coverage: Education, and the CCN staff took third place for Community Coverage: Agriculture and Business.

Loftis won third-place honors for Sports Column, General Interest Column and News Political Column and honorable mention for Sports News Story.

Newspapers compete in six divisions based on their circulation and publishing frequency. This year’s contest was judged by members of the Kansas Press Association.

Over a four-year span beginning in 2017, the Carroll County Newspapers staff has won a total of 101 individual awards, including 32 first-place honors, in addition to the three General Excellence wins.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: