All 11 JPs file to seek re-election to quorum court

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Carroll County News

All 11 members of the Carroll County Quorum Court filed as candidates for re-election during the filing period that closed at noon Tuesday.

District 8 Justice of the Peace Don McNeely, a Republican, and District 11 JP John Howerton, a Democrat, filed their paperwork Tuesday morning.

District 10 JP Larry Swofford, an Independent, filed for re-election last Thursday, Nov. 8, leaving McNeely and Howerton as the only incumbents who hadn’t filed by then.

District 3 JP Harrie Farrow, a Democrat whose district includes Eureka Springs, is being challenged by Republican Ferguson Stewart. Farrow defeated Stewart in the November 2018 general election to win the seat.

Also filing late last week were two incumbent constables — Russell Colbert Sr. in the Carrollton township and Rocky Whiteley in Winona township. They both filed as Independents, as did Trace Glisson, who is running for constable of the Prairie township. Randy Langhover filed as a Republican for constable of Polo township, challenging incumbent Jefferey Usrey, also a Republican.

Eureka Springs school board members Chris McCling, Al Larson and Travis Holloway have filed for re-election with no opposition.

Below is a list of local and state candidates who have filed to run in the 2020 Preferential Primary and NonPartisan General Election, to be held March 3, 2020. Asterisks denote incumbents.

Justices of the Peace

District 1

Jack Deaton* (I)

District 2

Charles G. Olson* (R)

District 3

Laurie “Harrie” Farrow* (D)

Ferguson Stewart (R)

District 4

Marty Johnson* (R)

District 5

Matt Phillips* (R)

District 6

Craig Hicks* (R)

District 7

Kellie Matt* (R)

District 8

Don McNeely* (R)

District 9

Roger Hurley Hall* (R)

District 10

Larry Swofford* (I)

District 11

John Howerton* (D)



Russell W. Colbert Sr.* (I)


Jim Butler* (R)


Kristopher Worrall (R)

Packard Springs

Gerald L. (Jay) Galyen* (R)


Jeffery B. Usrey* (R)

Randy Langhover (R)


Trace Glisson (I)


Rocky Whitely* (I)


Randall Dickinson* (R)

School Board


Zone 2

Linda Winkle

Eureka Springs

Position 1

Chris McClung*

Position 2

Al Larson*

Position 7

Travis D. Holloway*

Green Forest

Position 1
Peggy James*

Alechia Meador

Zone 3

Jeff Boggs

Circuit Judge

District 19 East

Scott Jackson*

State Representative

District 83

Keith Slape* (R)

District 97

Suzie Bell (D)

Harlan Breaux* (R)

District 98

Ron McNair* (R)

State Senate

District 16

Breanne Davis* (R)

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: