Tigers finish 3rd in Class 3A cross country

Friday, November 15, 2019

The Green Forest Tigers finished third in the Class 3A boys team standings at Saturday’s Arkansas high school cross country championships in Hot Springs.

Led by an eighth-place individual finish from sophomore Jake Lopez, the Tigers finished with 127 team points. West Fork won the team title with 41 points and Episcopal Collegiate was second with 74.

Lopez ran the 5,000-meter course in 17 minutes, 32 seconds.

Other Green Forest runners were freshman Alonzo Rangel, who finished 26th; junior Colin Delavin (35th); sophomore Paco Rangel (43rd); sophomore Kevin Cifuentes (49th); senior Tono Mendez (53rd); sophomore Daniel Alvarez (68th); senior Jacob McMahan (77th); and freshman Elvin Montoya (78th).

On the girls side, Green Forest finished ninth in the Class 3A team standings. The Lady Tigers’ top individual runner was senior Jennifer Martinez, who finished 21st in a time of 22:55.40.

Other Lady Tigers who competed were senior Lucy Rios (32nd), sophomore Samantha Delavin (57th), sophomore Marianna Beltran (60th), sophomore Alexis Griffin (70th) and junior Alejandra Lopez (109th).


Berryville took 10th place in the 4A boys team standings. The Bobcats were led by junior Reese Johnson, who finished 47th in 19:00.70.

Other runners for the Berryville boys were junior Caden Nickell (62nd), freshman Trenton Hughes (73rd), sophomore Chris Nequiz (80th), freshman Cole Price (82nd), junior Josh Wilson (91st), junior Hayden Braziel (93rd), freshman Dawson Williams (102nd) and junior Austin Escobar (166th).

Berryville’s girls finished 12th in the Class 4A team standings, led by freshman Gisselle Estrada’s eighth-place individual finish in a time of 20:57.10.

Other Berryville runners were senior Cecilia Doss (41st), freshman Alison Nequiz (98th), freshman Elizabeth Perez (108th) and freshman Shayleigh Broeker (154th).

Eureka Springs

Eureka Springs’ boys finished 11th in the Class 1A-2A boys standings. Junior Freddy Stolz was 15th among individuals with a time of 18:43.80.

Other runners for the Highlanders were freshman Jayden Urioste (60th), sophomore Damien Asbury (65th), junior Antoine Denayer (74th), junior Vini Campelo (136th), sophomore Jacob Eastburn (195th) and freshman Jonathan Bieschke (201st).

Two runners competed for the Eureka Springs girls: freshman Hannah Kelley (95th) and sophomore Katie Meyer (118th).

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: