3 JPs file to seek re-election

Friday, November 8, 2019

By Scott Loftis


Three incumbent members of the Carroll County Quorum Court officially filed for re-election Monday as the candidate filing period opened for the March 3 preferential primary and non-partisan general election.

District 1 Justice of the Peace Jack Deaton of Holiday Island filed as an independent candidate for re-election, while District 2 JP Charles Olson of Eureka Springs filed as a Republican and District 3 JP Laurie “Harrie” Farrow filed as a Democrat.

Ferguson “Fergie” Stewart of Eureka Springs filed as a Republican for the District 3 seat. Farrow defeated Stewart for the then-vacant seat in the November 2018 general election.

Also filing for re-election on Monday were two incumbent members of the Eureka Springs School Board — Chris McClung and Al Larson.

Eureka Springs’ Suzie Bell filed as a Democratic candidate for the District 97 seat in the state House of Representatives, which represents a large portion of Carroll County as well as portions of Madison and Washington counties. The seat is currently held by Harlan Breaux, a Republican from Holiday Island.

Carroll County Circuit Judge Scott Jackson filed as a candidate for re-election in September.

The filing period for the preferential primary and non-partisan general election will continue through noon, Monday, Nov. 11.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: