South Carroll County Fire District receives $14,988 Rural Services grant

Friday, November 8, 2019
Pictured from left are Bobby Ballinger Jr., Jeremy Ragland, Rep. Keith Slape, Amy McGehee, Nick Samac, Newt Lale; Gov. Asa Hutchinson, Rural Services Director Becca Caldwell, ARDC Chair James Myatt and ARDC Commissioner Brian McKenzie.
Submitted photo

Gov. Asa Hutchinson presented a check for $14,988.50 to the South Carroll County Fire District during a ceremony held Oct. 24 at the Arkansas State Capitol in Little Rock. The funds come from the Arkansas Economic Development Commission’s Rural Services Division

In total, $1.35 million was awarded to 49 communities throughout Arkansas.

South Carroll County Fire District received funding to purchase new “jaws of life” equipment.

The grants fall into one of three programs: the Rural Community Grant Program, the County Fair Building Grant Program and the Rural Services Block Grant Program. Most require a 50 percent matching grant to be eligible for the programs.

A total of $318,505 was awarded to 28 cities and counties under the Rural Community Grant Program. Applicants from incorporated towns of less than 3,000 in population and unincorporated rural areas are eligible for up to $15,000 in matching funds under the program for community development and fire protection projects.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: