Berryville School Board hires new band directors

Friday, April 19, 2019

By Kelby Newcomb

The Berryville School Board voted Monday to hire two new band directors for the 2019-20 school year.

Doug and Tonya Blevins, a husband-and-wife team, will lead the band program next year. Doug will be the high school band director, and Tonya will be the middle school band director.

The board voted to renew the maintenance service agreements and to approve the facility projects for the 2019-20 school year.

Dr. Paul Hines, the district’s facilities, maintenance and transportation director, said the maintenance department will work on the projects over the summer. The principals submitted a list of repairs they needed made in their buildings, he said, and the cost of the projects will determine how many the maintenance department can complete.

“We’ll start working once school is out,” he said. “We feel pretty good about getting a majority of them done.”

The board also voted for the Berryville School District to join the O.U.R. Perkins Grant Consortium effective July 1, 2019.

The board voted to approve the summer school budget of $92,537.27. Board president Chad Hipps said the bulk of the expense is salary and benefits for the summer school staff.

The board voted to approve hiring the following summer school employees: Jessica Bickle, Amy Romero, Beth Summers, Michelle Blevins, Michelle Knapp, Traci Morrell and Jennifer DePew for elementary; Keri Foster, Rachel Frank, Amber Kidwell, Jill Nance, Sam Suffal and Jennifer DePew for intermediate; Lisa Youngblood, Russell Borland, Jesse Parker and Joanna Coatney for middle school; Ina Wheatley, Monica Colbert and Joanna Coatney for high school; Shawna Heithold, Wendy Rodriquez, Betty Hall and Cindy Fiveash for food service; and Henry Adams, Jennifer DePew, Jim Rowe, Renae Doss, Jesse Parker and Ashley Engel as bus drivers.

The board voted to approve the special education purchased service contracts, the contract renewal for Wolf Wellness Center, the annual renewal of the E-Rate Agreement and the audit report.

“I would like to proudly say there were no findings in the audit report this year,” said superintendent Owen Powell. “That’s very good.”

The board voted to accept the following resignations: classroom aides Jennifer Hatfield and Barbara McDonald, custodian Jackie Robinson and cafeteria worker Donna Sparks.

The board voted to accept the following cafeteria moves: Evelyn Williams from 6.5 hours to seven hours, Marilyn Hicks from six hours to 6.5 hours and Debra Kile from seven hours to middle school cafeteria manager.

The board voted to renew all classified employee contracts for the 2019-20 school year.

The board voted to hire the following for part-time summer custodial work for summer 2019: Dave Randall, Jordyn Parker, Pedro Flores, Zane Carroll, Robert Hall, Oscar Lopez, Alejandro Lemus, Joni Kelch, Hayley Rivett, Bryan Valle, Montana Engel, Barbara Parton and Ethan Gregory.

The board also voted to hire Haleigh Collier as a high school math teacher and Larry Brooks as a purchased service high school agriculture teacher.

The board’s next regular meeting is scheduled for 6 p.m. Monday, May 20, in the Intermediate Cafetorium.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: