Municipal races take shape as filing period comes to end

Tuesday, August 21, 2018

The filing period for municipal candidates to run in the November general election closed at noon Friday, Aug. 17, with several area races drawing multiple candidates.

Green Forest will choose between two candidates — Jerry Carlton and Nestor Rivera — to become that city’s new mayor, while two candidates — Theodore Cottingham and Mike Seals — are challenging incumbent Butch Berry in Eureka Springs.

Berryville Mayor Tim McKinney is unopposed in his bid for an eighth term in office. Duane Malotte is the only candidate for mayor in Oak Grove.

Three of the four members of the Berryville City Council are running unopposed for re-election — Cindy George, Max Nichols and Linda Riddlesperger. Jason C. Williams is unopposed in his bid for the remaining council seat, replacing longtime alderman Joel Gibson.

There are three contested races for the Green Forest City Council, with two featuring incumbents. Joyce Cole, who was appointed to the council earlier this year, is being challenged by Jorge Diaz. Longtime alderwoman Pamela Norton is seeking re-election against challenger Marvin Emmons. Renee Gonzalez and Carol E. Smith are both seeking the seat currently held by alderman Tim Hatman, and alderwoman Willa Kerby is unopposed in her bid for re-election.

There are four contested races for the Eureka Springs City Council, two of which include incumbents seeking re-election. Longtime alderman Terry McClung is being challenged by Joyce Knowles, while incumbent Melissa Greene is facing two challengers, former alderman James DeVito and Sara Mayes. Eric Knowles and Harry Meyer are candidates for another council seat, while another seat is up for grabs between Caitlin Branaman, Susan Harman and Tracy Johnson. Alderwoman Mickey Schneider and alderman Bob Thomas are unopposed in their re-election bids.

Three incumbents — Gary Gray, Jacqueline Powers and Eugene Reynolds — are unopposed for re-election to the Oak Grove City Council.

City attorneys Clint Scheel of Berryville and Tim Weaver of Eureka Springs are also unopposed candidates for re-election.

City clerks in all four cities are each seeking another term with no opposition — Ann Armstrong in Eureka Springs, Rhonda Brantner in Oak Grove, Leonda Davis in Berryville and Melea Fry in Green Forest.

The general election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 8.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: