Reece seeks judge’s seat

Friday, March 2, 2018

Green Forest Mayor Charles Reece has filed as a Republican candidate for Carroll County judge, along with former justice of the peace Duane Coatney.

The party and non-partisan filing periods for the May 23 preferential primary both closed Thursday.

Reece won the Republican nomination for county judge in 2016 but was defeated in the general election that year by Sam Barr, a Democrat who has filed as a candidate for re-election. Barr is currently serving his fifth term as county judge.

The county sheriff’s race, which had been expected to draw as many as seven candidates, instead drew only four. Republican Jack Gentry Jr. was the last of the four candidates to file. Two other announced candidates did not file by the deadline, and Sheriff Randy Mayfield did not file as a candidate for re-election. Mayfield, a Democrat, defeated Gentry in the 2016 general election.

Nine of the county’s 11 justices of the peace filed for re-election. The latest to file were District 4 JP Marty Johnson and District 9 JP Roger Hall, both Republicans, and District 11 JP John Howerton, whose party affiliation was not included in a spreadsheet provided by the Carroll County Clerk’s Office. Doug Hausler, a Democrat, filed as a candidate for the District 4 seat. District 3 JP Lamont Richie and District 7 JP Noreen Watson did not file for re-election. Democrat Laurie “Harrie” Farrow and Republican Ferguson “Fergie” Stewart are candidates for the District 3 seat, while Republican Kellie Stevens Matt and Democrat Colin Stimson are seeking the District 7 seat.

Circuit Clerk Ramona Wilson has filed for re-election. Wilson has previously run as a Democrat, although information provided by the County Clerk’s Office did not indicate a party affiliation.

Connie Doss filed as a Republican candidate for county clerk, joining incumbent Jamie Correia and Deana Davidson, both Democrats.

Cedar Constable Jim Butler, a Republican, is seeking re-election. Terry A. Whitehead is an independent candidate for Kings River constable.

Republicans Nick Samac and Erin Griesenauer are candidates for Polo constable, challenging incumbent Jeffery B. Usrey, who has filed to seek re-election.

Winona Constable Rocky Whitely, a Republican, is seeking re-election. Jim Butler, whose party affiliation was not listed, is a candidate for re-election as Cedar constable.

David L. Slaton, a Republican who had been listed as a candidate for constable in Beaver, is now listed as an unopposed candidate for coroner. Incumbent Jim Capps did not file for re-election.

In school board races, which are non-partisan, Jeff Tanksley is seeking the Position 1 At Large seat on the Berryville board. The seat is currently held by David Waller, who is seeking re-election.

In Eureka Springs, incumbent Jason Morris is running for re-election to his Position 4 At Large seat. He is challenged by Jack Moyer.

Jerry King is seeking re-election to his Zone 1 seat on the Green Forest School Board. Heath Norris has filed as a candidate for the Position 2 At Large seat, challenging incumbent Bud Phillips.

Democrat Jim Wallace of Eureka Springs has filed as a Democrat for the state Senate District 5 seat held by incumbent Bryan King of Green Forest, a Republican who is seeking re-election. Republican Bob Ballinger of Berryville is also a candidate for the District 5 seat.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: