4 JPs seeking re-election

Tuesday, February 27, 2018

Four incumbent members of the Carroll County Quorum Court have filed for re-election since Friday, Feb. 23, leading a flurry of candidate filings for the May 23 preferential primary.

District 1 Justice of the Peace Jack Deaton filed as an independent candidate while District 2 JP Charles G. “Chuck” Olson, District 5 JP Matt Phillips and District 8 JP Don McNeely all filed as Republicans to seek re-election.

Carroll County Tax Collector Kay Phillips-Brown filed as a Democratic candidate for re-election.

Alan Hoos, a former chief deputy with the Carroll County Sheriff’s Office, filed as a Republican candidate for sheriff.

Kathryn M. Merry filed to run for county treasurer as a Democrat.

Two newcomers filed for Justice of the Peace — Laurie Harrow for District 3 and Kellie Matt for District 7.

Three incumbent constables have filed for re-election — Republicans Jerod Newberry in Coin and Jeffery Usrey in Polo township and Democrat R.M. “Butch” Hanby in Prairie township. Two Republicans, David L. Slaton and Robert L. Tollett filed as candidates for constable of Beaver township.

Incumbent Gayla Wolfinbarger filed to seek re-election to the Position 3 seat on the Eureka Springs School Board and Travis D.

Holloway filed as a candidate for the Position 7 seat.

Bud Phillips filed to seek re-election to Position 2 on the Green Forest School Board.

The party filing period will continue until noon on Thursday, March 1, with the non-partisan filing period ending at 3 p.m. that day.

The filing period for municipal candidates will begin July 27.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: