Ambulance panel has 1st meeting

Tuesday, February 7, 2017

The Carroll County Ambulance District Commission held its first meeting Monday night, after its five members were appointed at January’s meeting of the Carroll County Quorum Court.

David Stoppel, Wendell Coatney, Amy Leivan, JoAnn Griesenauer and Rick Wheatley were nominated by County Judge Sam Barr and approved by a unanimous vote of the county’s 11 justices of the peace. Their terms are staggered, from five years for Stoppel to one year for Wheatley.

At Monday’s meeting, Stoppel was elected to serve as the board’s chairman, with Leivan elected a vice chair and Griesenauer as secretary.

The commission’s responsibility will be to oversee the Eastern County Ambulance District, which was narrowly approved by voters in the eastern portion of the county in the November general election. The ordinance that created the district includes a 2.5-mill property tax to fund its operation. The commission is expected to use a portion of the revenue created through that millage to enter into a contract for emergency ambulance service in the eastern portion of the county.

Among the topics of discussion at Monday’s meeting were the creation of a mission statement for the commission and the possibility of eventually hiring a consulting firm to assist in drafting a request for proposals from ambulance service providers and then evaluating those proposals. The commission also discussed the need to identify and consult with legal counsel, probably through the Association of Arkansas Counties.

The commission’s next meeting is scheduled for 6:30 p.m. Monday, Feb. 20, at the Carroll County Eastern District Courthouse in Berryville.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: