Early votes accepted beginning Tuesday

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Early voting will begin Tuesday at both Carroll County courthouses for the March 1 preferential primary and non-partisan judicial election.

Voters may cast their ballots early from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, except for Monday, Feb. 29, when voting will stop at 5 p.m. Early voting will also be held from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on two Saturdays, Feb. 20 and 27. Early voting will be held at the Carroll County Eastern District Courthouse in Berryville and at the Western District Courthouse in Eureka Springs.

Arkansas has traditionally held its primary in May but the Legislature adopted a measure during its 2015 session to move the primary ahead to March.

The primary includes one major local race. Three candidates are seeking the Republican nomination for sheriff -- Mike Zimmerman, a former lieutenant with the Carroll County Sheriff's Office; Oak Grove Police Chief Jason Hunt; and Harrison police officer Jack Gentry Jr. Incumbent Sheriff Randy Mayfield is unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Voters also will choose a district judge to fill a new full-time position that will serve both Carroll and Madison counties. Madison County District Judge Dale Ramsey and local attorney Chris Flanagin, a former assistant prosecutor, are seeking the position.

While the primary winners will move on to the general election in November, the judicial race will be settled on March 1 as a non-partisan contest.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: