Local students receive DAR Good Citizen Awards

Tuesday, February 16, 2016
Accepting Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen Awards on Feb. 11 were, fro m left, Joel Brown of Berryville High School, Principal Kathryn Lavender of Eureka Springs High School and Lupita Perez-Lopez of Green Forest High School. Lavender accepted on behalf of Naomi Floyd, who was unable to attend. (Submitted photo)

Winners of the DAR (Daughters of the American Revolution) Good Citizen Awards from the Abendschone Chapter of DAR were awarded on Thursday, Feb. 11, and prizes were handed out to the winners. The event was held at the ECHO Clinic in Eureka Springs.

The winners were Joel Brown of Berryville High School, Lupita Perez-Lopez of Green Forest High School and grand prize winner Naomi Floyd of Eureka Springs High School.

The DAR Good Citizens program and Scholarship Contest is intended to encourage and reward the qualities of good citizenship. The program is open to all high school seniors enrolled in public or private schools accredited by their state board of education. United States citizenship is not required.

The student selected as the school's DAR Good Citizen must have the following qualities: dependability, service, leadership and patriotism.

The recommended procedure for selecting a DAR Good Citizen is for the faculty to choose three seniors who have demonstrated, in an outstanding way, these qualities of a good citizen. From these three students, the senior class selects one student. Each school may, however, use a method of its own choice. Each school may honor only one senior class student per year as their DAR Good Citizen.

Each school's DAR Good Citizen receives a DAR Good Citizen pin, certificate and wallet recognition card. This student is then eligible, if he/she wishes, to enter the DAR Good Citizens Scholarship Contest. Each contest entry is evaluated by independent, non-DAR judges. The winning entry is advanced through state and national levels of judging.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: