Mayfield seeks second term as county sheriff

Friday, November 6, 2015

Carroll County Sheriff Randy Mayfield has filed as a candidate for re-election.

Mayfield, who was elected to office in November 2014, filed paperwork this week with the Carroll County Clerk's Office to seek a second term. He is running as a Democrat.

Earlier this week, Oak Grove Police Chief Jason Hunt and Harrison police officer Jack R. Gentry Jr. filed as Republican candidates for sheriff.

Carroll County Coroner Jim Capps has also filed as a Democrat to seek re-election. District 8 Justice of the Peace Don McNeely and District 9 JP Roger Hall, both Republicans, also filed to seek re-election, as did District 10 JP Larry Swofford, a Democrat.

JoAnn Harris, who currently serves as the county's assessor, filed as a Democrat for District 6 JP. Earlier, Berryville police officer Craig Hicks filed for the District 6 seat as a Republican.

Other candidates who filed between press time for Tuesday's Midweek edition and Thursday afternoon included Republican Jim Butler for Cedar constable; Republican Jerod Newberry for Coin constable; Republican R. Niles Rains for Hickory constable; and Republican Jeffery B. Usrey for Polo constable.

Previously reported filings included incumbents Carroll County Judge Sam Barr, circuit clerk Ramona Wilson, county clerk Jamie Correia, tax collector Kay Phillips Brown and treasurer Cindy Collins, all Democrats; District 2 Justice of the Peace Charles G. "Chuck" Olson, a Republican; and District 4 JP Marty Johnson, an independent.

Deputy assessor Jeannie L. Davidson filed as a Democratic candidate for assessor.

R.M. "Butch" Hamby filed as a Democrat for constable in Prairie township, and Ronald E. "Rocky" Whitely filed as a Republican candidate for constable in Winoa township.

The candidate filing period for partisan candidates opened at noon Monday and will continue through noon Monday, Nov. 9.

The candidate filing period for non-partisan judicial candidates opened at 3 p.m. Monday and will continue until 3 p.m. Monday, Nov. 9.

The preferential primary and non-partisan general elections will be held March 1, 2016, with early voting beginning on Feb. 16, 2016.

The filing period for municipal candidates will run from July 25 through Aug. 19, 2016.

The general election will be held Nov. 8, 2016.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: