2014 Top Stories No. 4: Mayfield wins Carroll County sheriff's race

Friday, January 2, 2015

Carroll County voters elected a new sheriff in the Nov. 4 general election.

Randy Mayfield, a Berryville police officer, defeated four-term incumbent Sheriff Bob Grudek by a margin of nearly 23 percent. Mayfield received 61.4 percent of the vote compared with 38.6 percent for Grudek.

Mayfield was sworn into office shortly after midnight on Thursday.

Eureka Springs has a new mayor. Former alderman Robert "Butch" Berry also was sworn into office shortly after midnight Thursday. Berry ran unopposed for the city's top office after his predecessor, Morris Pate, opted not to seek re-election.

Mayoral races in all five Carroll County municipalities were unopposed. Berryville's Tim McKinney, Green Forest's Charles Reece, Oak Grove's Joshua Peden and Alpena's Bobbie Bailey all were re-elected.

County Judge Sam Barr also was re-elected without opposition. Reece had announced that he would seek the county judge's seat but later withdrew from the race to seek another term as mayor of Green Forest.

Carroll County Circuit Clerk Ramona Wilson also was re-elected, defeating District Clerk Betty Neal.

In contested Quorum Court races, District 8 Justice of the Peace Donald W. McNeely was re-elected by a wide margin over challenger Mike Miller, who died in a one-vehicle accident in Benton County the night before the election. District 4 JP Ron Flake was defeated in his re-election bid by Marty Johnson.

District 16 State Rep. Bob Ballinger was re-elected over challenger Sonny Carter.

In May's nonpartisan judicial election, challenger Scott Jackson defeated incumbent Kent Crow for circuit court judge.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: