School board members selected

Friday, September 19, 2014

With no contested races, voter turnout in Tuesday's 2014 school board election was very light.

In fact, no votes were cast for the Zone 1 seat on the Berryville School Board.

Chad Hipps was the only candidate for that seat and was expected to be appointed to the position at a special called meeting of the board Thursday night. Because Hipps didn't receive a single vote, he wasn't officially elected. He will be appointed to serve one year and then will have to seek election to the seat.

In Eureka Springs, Chris McClung and Albert J. Larson were re-elected to Positions 1 and 7, respectively, and Glenn E. Coggeshell was elected to position 7. Six voters each cast ballots for McClung and Larson, while Coggeshell received two votes.

Green Forest Zone 2 board member Dianna Raye Sturtz was re-election to her position with two votes.

Although measures regarding millage rates were on the ballot in all three districts, there will be no changes because none were seeking millage increases.

Election results are unofficial until they are certified by the Carroll County Election Commission. The commission will meet at 1 p.m. Friday at the County Clerk's Office to certify the results.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: