Jackson defeats Crow; Election results to be finalized Tuesday

Friday, May 23, 2014 ~ Updated 11:42 AM

BERRYVILLE -- Scott Jackson appears to have defeated incumbent Kent Crow in the race for circuit court judge. Jackson received 2,545 votes -- or 65.6 percent -- compared to Crow's 1,333, or 34.4 percent.

The initial election report indicated that only six of 19 precincts were counted in association with the number of voters released, but election commissioners later reported that these figures included all 19 precincts. The discrepancy was caused by an error with the computer program that Elections Coordinator Joanna Schuster uses to calculate the voting results.

Following the ballot tabulation on Tuesday night -- which lasted until 1:30 a.m. on Wednesday -- the Carroll County Election Commission audited the results of four precincts, Prairies/Cabanal; Kings River; Eureka Springs Wards 1, 2 and 3; and Johnson Springs/Packard Springs/Winona.

"We will be performing an audit to match the number of voters signed in versus the number of ballots received to ensure that we have the most accurate count," Carroll County Elections Coordinator Joanna Schuster said Wednesday.

"We are not comfortable with the results from four precincts," Commissioner Johnice Dominick said around 1:30 a.m. on Wednesday, after the ballots had been counted. "These numbers will likely change."

The numbers did change. In the report issued at 1:27 a.m. on Wednesday, it shows a total of 3,398 votes were cast. The audited results, as of 11:23 a.m. on Thursday, show that 3,925 people voted in Tuesday's election.

The numbers may have changed, but the results, however, have not.

In the Republican primary, Carroll County Sheriff Bob Grudek received 63 more votes than his challenger, Jack Gentry Jr. Grudek received 1,287 votes (51.25 percent), while Gentry received 1,224 (48.75 percent).

"I'm just happy that the results have come in the way that they are," Grudek told Carroll County News.

All of these results are still unofficial. The Election Commission will certify the votes and count provisional ballots at its meeting on Tuesday at 1 p.m. at the County Clerk's Office in Berryville.

The unofficial results in the regional and state races are as follows:

The Republican race for State Representative District 98 shows a close contest between Jeff Boggs and Ron McNair. McNair is the unofficial leader, with 52 percent of the vote over Boggs' 48 percent.

In the three-person race for the Republican attorney general candidate, Leslie Rutledge is the leader with 47.3 percent of the votes, higher than David Sterling and Patricia Nation. Because none of the candidates received more than 50 percent of the vote, there will be a run-off in this race.

The run-off election -- between Rutledge and Sterling -- will take place at the same polling places on Tuesday, June 10 from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. If you voted in the Democratic Primary in the May 20 election, you are ineligible to vote in the Republican run-off. Only those who voted Republican or non-partisan -- or didn't vote at all -- can vote on June 10.

The November race for governor will be between Republican Asa Hutchinson and Democrat Mike Ross. They defeated their primary opponents, Curtis Coleman and Lynette "Doc" Bryant, with 72.9 and 84.6 percent of the votes, respectively.

Republican Congressman Tim Griffin defeated Rep. Debra Hobbs and State Rep. Andy Mayberry in the lieutenant governor primary with 63.4 percent of the vote.

Rep. Andrea Lea won 68.2 percent of the votes for auditor of state in the Republican primary, leaving opponent Ken Yang with 31.8 percent.

The Republican race for the state treasurer candidate was closer, with Circuit Clerk Dennis Milligan receiving 53.5 percent of the vote over Rep. Duncan Baird's 46.5 percent.

Court of Appeals Judge Robin Wynne has defeated Tim Cullen in the non-partisan election for state supreme court associate justice, position 2. Wynne received 52 percent of the vote; Cullen, 48 percent.

The audit process went all day on Thursday at the Berryville courthouse. Following the audit, the Carroll County Election Commission issued a press release.

Signed by Johnice Dominick, David Hoover and Melinda Large, it states:

"In regard to the discrepancies involving the precincts that vote at the St. Elizabeth Parish Center, the source was found immediately upon looking at the original lists of electors that was turned in with the ballots for Eureka Springs Wards 1, 2 and 3.

"The issue was that a list of electors from the other precincts (Johnson Springs/Packard Springs/Winona) was included with the list of electors from Eureka Springs.

"The headings that show which precincts the list of electors belonged to was illegible on the yellow copy that was turned in with the ballots. Once this issue was corrected, the number of electors recorded matched the number of ballots that we received.

"In regard to the discrepancies involving the precincts that vote at the Berryville Community Center, our audit concluded that nine voters were given the incorrect ballot. Nine voters were given a Prairies/Cabanal ballot when they should have received a Kings River ballot.

"Since we do not know which ballots are involved, the results must stand. We hereby certify that these nine incorrect ballots do no affect any races or change any winners.

"This issue will be addressed at the next poll worker training session."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: