County election for Farm Service Agency now underway

Saturday, November 17, 2012

CARROLL COUNTY -- Voting is now underway for the Carroll County Committee of the Farm Service Agency.

In a press release issued late last week, County FSA Director Scott Fancher said it was vital for local farmers to vote.

"County committees play a huge role in securing and administering farm program benefits at the local level," he said. Committee members supervise the delivery of United States Department of Agriculture commodity price support, production adjustment, and conservation, and disaster programs at the local level.

"It is an extremely important job that requires a lot of volunteer time and effort," he said. "Committee members represent the interests of the farmers and ranchers from their area of the county."

Carroll County is divided into three Local Administrative Areas for election purposes, Fancher said. Each area receives one representative, and committee members are elected to staggered, three-year terms.

This year's election will be held in Area Three -- which includes the communities of Alpena, Berryville, Cabanol, Carrollton, Delmar, Dryfork, Gobbler, Metalton, Omega, Rudd, and Rule.

Nominations for the election closed on Aug. 1. The ballots mailed out include the names of all eligible nominees as well as spaces for write-in candidates.

Completed ballots must be delivered to the local county office, either by mail or in person, by Dec. 3. They will be counted there at 10 a.m. on Dec. 10, and the newly elected committee member will take office Jan. 1, 2013.

For more information, contact the Carroll County FSA Office at 870-423-2767.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: