ES hosts Cal Ripken 11, 12-year-olds

Monday, July 16, 2012
Members of the 12-year-old All-Star team the Northeast Arkansas Vipers, champions of the Cal Ripken tournament in Eureka Springs. Photo by David Bell, CCN

EUREKA SPRINGS -- Van Pelt Stadium was the site of the Cal Ripken 11 and 12-year-old state tournament. Though no Carroll County teams will make it any further in tournament play, all gave it their best. "It was a great experience and I'm ready for next year," said James Rozell, director of the Eureka Springs youth baseball association. "It was good for our town, the players and family members, and for those who just came out to watch [kids play baseball]." he added.

The 11-year-old champs were the All-Stars from Batesville, the runners-up from were from Bentonville. The 12-year-old champion team was the Northeast Arkansas Vipers, and the runners-up were from Blytheville.

The winners and runners-up will advance to multi-state regional tournaments.

ABOVE: 11-year-old Cal Ripken state tournament winners fromBatesville. Photo by Michael Manley, special to CCN.
11-year-old runners-up in the Cal Ripken state 11-year-old tournament were from Bentonville. Photo by Michael, special to CCN.
Members of the 12-year-old All-Star team the Northeast Arkansas Vipers show how they finished in the state Cal Ripken tournament in Eureka Springs... they celebrated. Photo by David Bell, CCN.
View 1 comment
Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. Please note that those who post comments on this website may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.
  • Go NEA Vipers!

    -- Posted by AmandaSims on Mon, Jul 16, 2012, at 2:21 PM
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: