Carroll County to get federal funds for road repair

Saturday, December 3, 2011

WASHINGTON D.C. -- U.S. Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2), Steve Womack (AR-3), and Mike Ross (AR-4) this week announced that the Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department will receive a $1 million grant to repair and reconstruct federal highways and roads that were damaged by severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes this past spring.

Carroll County is one of the counties in Arkansas that wil be affected, along with Benton, Madison and Boone counties.

"Despite extensive state and local efforts to clean up and rebuild, the series of storms that ravaged Arkansas this year caused damage beyond our local governments' abilities to respond. The federal highways and roads that run through these storm damaged communities is a perfect example of where Washington needs to provide relief, so I am pleased to see the Department of Transportation has issued these funds to Arkansas. This grant will help our communities recover by restoring the highways that are vital to Arkansans," Boozman said.

"This year Arkansans were reminded of Mother Nature's force. Many people across our region are still picking up the pieces of their lives that were disrupted by natural disasters," Crawford said.

"Funds from the Department of Transportation will help local authorities repair roads and bridges that were damaged by the natural disasters. These funds should be used prudently in the areas of greatest need," he added.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: