Disaster support extended to county

Friday, June 24, 2011

LITTLE ROCK -- Federal disaster assistance has been extended again in Arkansas as a result of the storms, tornadoes and flooding that struck the state beginning April 14, the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) said Wednesday.

Seven more counties join the 30 others around the state that have been designated for federal Individual Assistance under the presidential disaster declaration and subsequent amendments. The newly added counties are Carroll, Chicot, Clark, Crawford, Dallas, Desha and Hot Spring.

"This is great news for the state of Arkansas and for the disaster survivors in those counties who are working so hard to repair and rebuild after the storms," said State Coordinating Officer David Maxwell.

"The state and FEMA are poised to rush assistance to the eligible Arkansans in these newly designated counties," said Federal Coordinating Officer Nancy M. Casper. "Our message to them is register with FEMA as soon as possible if they haven't done so already."

Arkansans in any of the 37 counties now designated for Individual Assistance under the disaster declaration should register with FEMA. They can register online at www.disasterassistance.gov, via web-enabled phone at m.fema.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585. The deadline to register for assistance is Aug. 1.

Information about FEMA's Individual Assistance program is available at www.fema.gov/assistance/process/assistance.shtm.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: