Holiday Island board elects new commissioners

Friday, December 10, 2010
Dixie Mills is sworn in by Carroll County Judge Sam Barr after winning a seat on the Holiday Island Board of Commissioners during Tuesday night's election. In the background is incumbent Bruce Larson, who kept his seat in the election. Kathryn Lucariello / CCN

HOLIDAY ISLAND -- It was a close Board of Commissioners election race Tuesday, as newcomer Dixie Mills grabbed her seat by four votes over fellow candidate Gary Hanson.

Incumbent Chairman Bruce Larson kept his seat by a wide margin, however.

Larson finished with 342, Mills 241, Hanson 237 and Patti Edwards 222.

Of the 541 ballots cast, 28 were mailed to absentee voters, with 22 returned. Early voters numbered 277, while 242 went to the polls. Of those who went to the polls, one was thrown out for write-in candidates "Mickey Mouse" and "Donald Duck."

Edwards was the first to vote, and her husband, Gene, was the last, at about 6:30 p.m. Tuesday.

Polls closed at 7 p.m., and the staff finished counting by 8:15 p.m.

Total ballots cast were the largest number yet, followed by a close second in 2008, when five commissioners ran for the two available seats.

Wednesday morning, Carroll County Judge Sam Barr swore in Larson and Mills to their seats, and the board immediately chose its officers for 2011. Larson will retain the chair, Kay Janky will serve as vice-chairman, and Mills as secretary.

The board usually does not hold meetings in December, but it has scheduled a regular work session for Dec. 20 at 9 a.m. The board is tentatively planning to review drafts of 2011 district goals, the Standard Operating Procedures manual, and possibly hear a report on marketing recommendations.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: