Elections draw multiple contenders

Friday, August 27, 2010 ~ Updated 9:39 AM
With the final filing period over, a drawing for ballot positions for the November General Election took place Wednesday at the county courthouse in Berryville where County Judge Sam Barr was the first to draw from the basket held by Election Commissioner Joe Goforth. Standing alongside was Barr's good-natured opponent, Andrew Wilhelm, whose wife Laurie Wilhelm sat nearby. Wilhelm is a Republican seeking the seat that Barr, a Democrat, currently occupies. Barr did draw the Number One position on the ballot for his race. Anna Mathews / Carroll County News

CARROLL COUNTY -- Candidates who filed for municipal offices prior to the noon Tuesday deadline have made this election season one of the most crowded yet with multiple contenders in some contests.

In those races, if no candidate garners more than 50 percent of the vote, a runoff between the top two finishers takes place.

In Eureka Springs, there are six candidates running for mayor and four for city clerk/treasurer, besides the three contested council seat contests.

In Berryville, all council members are running for repeat terms unopposed, but long-time Mayor Tim McKinney will be in a three-way race with challenges from Jason Williams and Brian Scheller.

Green Forest has its own three-way race for the city clerk/treasurer's seat. In addition, there are three council seat races -- but Mayor Charlie Reece is running unopposed.

This election season also has some political newcomers stepping up to fill the Oak Grove City Council table.

Long-time alderman Sam Jones is the lone candidate for mayor, filling a seat being vacated by Jean Morgan who has held the post the past 28 years. Patsy Carlton will be returning as recorder. Unchallenged candidates who filed for Positions 1 through 5 respectively are Gary High, Gary Gray, Joshua Peden, Eugene Reynolds, and Janice McKelvey.

In the town of Beaver, only one person filed for a council seat: Jay Baldridge for Position 2. All incumbents can automatically retain their seats by default.

Eureka Springs

In the mayor's race, Alderman Joyce Zeller was the final contender to file for Dani Joy's seat. Joy is not seeking a second mayoral term. Others are Jeff Jeans, Morris Pate, Alderman Beverly Blankenship, Charles "Sonny" Carter and Rachel Love.

Both Lany Balance and Janet Jo Alexander are running unopposed for the alderman seats being vacated by mayoral contenders Blankenship and Zeller.

City Clerk/Treasurer Mary Jean Sell is facing a challenge from Chuck Wofford, Tori Sue Bush and Ann Armstrong.

Ward 1, Position 1: Alderman Mickey Schneider is facing a challenge from L. Dean Kirkpatrick.

Ward 2, Position 1: Alderman James DeVito is facing a challenge from H. Gregory Moon.

Ward 1, Position 2: Alderman Patrick Brammer is facing a challenge from Ken Pownall.

City Attorney Tim Weaver is running unopposed.

Green Forest

Green Forest Alderman Willa Kerby is the only incumbent besides the mayor who is running unopposed. The races include the following:

* Incumbent City Clerk/Treasurer Janelle Compton is in a three-way race with challengers Summer Fultz and Stacey Drake;

* Alderman Mike Miller is up against Nestor Rivera;

* Joe Pierce and Bill Niven, Jr., are both seeking the Ward 2, Position 1 seat currently held by David Garrett who did not file for another term; and,

* Alderman Tony Rocole is facing a challenge from Pamela Norton.


Long-time Mayor Bobbie Bailey filed for another term. Recorder/Treasurer Billie Wilcox did the same.

Jeremy Youngblood filed for Ward 1, Position 2; Tammy Raley for Ward 1, Position 4; and Jean Lane filed for Ward 1, Position 5.

The Ward 1, Position 1 incumbent Ron Bailey did not file but can retain his seat by default because no challengers stepped up.

The same holds true for the Ward 1, Position 3 incumbent John Jenkins.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: