Newcomers sweep election for two HI Board positions

Friday, December 4, 2009
Carroll County Judge Sam Barr, left, swears in the two new Holiday Island commissioners, Pete Putnam and Linda Griswold. Griswold will serve as secretary on the 2010 HISID board. Kathryn Lucariello / CCN

HOLIDAY ISLAND -- In a complete Holiday Island Board of Commissioners shakeup, two newcomers swept the election for the two seats on the 2010 board.

There were 338 ballots cast, including 21 absentee ballots. Linda Griswold was the runaway winner, garnering 215 votes. She will serve a three-year term. Pete Putnam came in second for the one-year term with 189 votes.

Incumbent Ken Mills received 158 votes, and newcomer Don Norman received 78 votes.

None of the remaining commissioners has been on the board for more than a year. For this reason, District Manager Kevin Crosson suggested holding boad orientations in January rather than waiting until April, as has been done in the past.

After Carroll County Judge Sam Barr swore in the new members, the board chose its officers for 2010: Bruce Larson as chairman; John Dolce as vice-chairman; and Linda Griswold as secretary. There were no other nominations for these positions.

At present, there is no board meeting scheduled for December. The board will resume its monthly work session and separate business meeting in January 2010.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: