Governor issues second disaster declaration

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Governor Mike Beebe has declared Arkansas, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Chicot, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Cross, Dallas, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Grant, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Logan, Lonoke, Marion, Miller, Monroe, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Scott, Sharp, St. Francis, Union, Van Buren, White and Woodruff Counties state disaster areas due to the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding of Oct. 29.

This new declaration is separate from the previous declarations for earlier October flooding. Counties listed in the previous disaster declarations also included Ashley, Clark, Desha, Little River and Madison Counties. This means that a total of 51 Arkansas counties have received state disaster status due to severe weather in October.

Next week, FEMA assessment teams will arrive in Arkansas to coordinate with the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management. After those assessments are completed, Governor Beebe may request a Presidential Disaster Declaration from President Barack Obama. While that declaration would help repair damaged infrastructure, preliminary reports suggest that the number of Arkansas homes sustaining destructive damage may not meet the federal requirements for individual assistance.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: