Carroll County qualifies for FEMA 'Ike' funds

Friday, October 24, 2008

LITTLE ROCK -- Governor Mike Beebe received word late Wednesday that 16 Arkansas counties qualify for public assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency for damage caused by the remnants of Hurricane Ike in September. The counties include: Carroll, Clay, Craighead, Greene, Hempstead, Howard, Izard, Lafayette, Lawrence, Little River, Madison, Miller, Newton, Randolph, Sharp, and Van Buren.

Under the declaration, state and local agencies will receive federal funds toward the repair of facilities and infrastructure. It does not include assistance for individual storm victims. Arkansas submitted its request for federal assistance on Sept. 30.

FEMA previously approved public assistance for 18 Arkansas counties in September after Hurricane Gustav. With the remnants of the two storms taking such different paths through Arkansas, only Van Buren County received the FEMA declaration after both storms.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: