Sr. Babe Ruth teams begin division play

Monday, June 2, 2008

CARROLL COUNTY -- The Northwest Arkansas Senior Babe Ruth baseball season is underway, with teams in East/West divisions already chalking up wins and losses.

Carroll County has a team in the East Division named Carroll County. The team includes Colby Arnold, Jarred Fredrick, Reyburn Nance, Josiah Goodman, and Paul Wells from Green Forest; and Chris Hall, Jared Johnson, Dustin Morrell, Ryan Nance, Cody Sanders, Colby Singer, and Dakota Spears from Berryville.

Coaches for Carroll County are Manager Don Martin, and Tom Hall and Brandon Stone.

East Division teams include the State Farm Saints, West Fork, Elkins, Huntsville, Rogers Zero Mountain, Boone County Hudspeth Motors, and Carroll County.

The West Division teams include Springdale Tyson, Gravette, Rogers Backyard Burger, Gentry Serfco, Pest, Bentonville, Prairie Grove, and Pea Ridge Community First Bank.

Some teams have played as many as six games already, while Carroll County had yet to take the field as of Monday morning. Their game with Pea Ridge last Saturday was postponed due to rain, and reset for Thursday.

Carroll County played Gentry on Wednesday and won the first game 6-5, but lost the nightcap 1-5. They are now 1-1 on the season, with a game Thursday against Pea Ridge and Sunday vs. Prairie Grove.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: