Teams battle in Sudden Death playoff at Chamber golf tourney

Monday, May 16, 2005

BERRYVILLE -- The Chamber of Commerce held its seventh annual Scholarship Benefit Golf Tournament on Friday, May 6, and after a great day of golf, two teams went to a sudden death playoff to decide the outcome, Chamber Director Mike Ellis reported.

Ellis said last year's champions, Taylor DeWeese and Will Gotto, were sponsored by Jo Ann Clark Insurance, and they ended up in a tie with the previous year's winners, Jamie Hussey and Scott Jackson, who were sponsored by KTHS Radio.

Both teams shot a 61 over the regulation 18 holes, an outstanding score, even in the scramble format.

It took three holes to decide the playoff, but the Jackson-Hussey team brought the trophy back to KTHS.

Dustin Walker received a prize and a massage from Berryville Wellness Center for winning the long drive competition, and Pam Mullen earned a prize and a massage from Debbie Hammons at The Zone for the women's long drive.

Chamber Director Mike Ellis said, "The tournament went very well, and we'd like to thank all the sponsors, the participants, and the Carroll County Country Club for making this such a successful event."

The following teams placed in the various flights:

Championship Flight

1. Scott Jackson & Jamie Hussey 2. Taylor DeWeese and Will Gotto 3. Mike Blok & Jeff Gill

First Flight

1. Bob & Brent Moore 2. Tim Lehr & Jeff Epley 3. Gordon Carr & Rick Smith

Second Flight

1. John & Tina Reading 2. Ken Collins & Don Cox 3. Jenny Muniz & Pam Mullen

Third Flight

1. Cindy George & Bob Lowell 2. Pat & Cindy Collins 3. Curtis Matthews & Tim Dudley

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: