Highlander coed soccer team downs B'ville 2-1 in opener

Monday, March 8, 2004

The Eureka Springs coed soccer team opened its season on the road Monday at Bentonville with a junior varsity game they won, 2-1.

Coach Bill Featherstone reported that Bentonville broke an 0-0 tie mid-way through the first half on a lofting shot over the keeper from outside the box on the right side.

Then, shortly before halftime, Eureka got an equalizing goal on a soft pass into the penalty box from center midfielder Jake Seymour that was beautifully headed by forward Andy Hebert-Brown past the keeper for a goal.

The teams ended that half tied, 1-1, then Featherstone said the intensity began to build.

"It was actually two halves within one," Featherstone said. "The first 20 minutes found Eureka putting constant pressure on Bentonville with booming punts from keeper Tim Watson.

"Bentonville's keeper was up to the task, however, and came off his line effectively to thwart what was several near opportunities for shots on goal."

Featherstone reported that midway through the second half, however, on a scramble in the goal box after a corner kick by Eureka, mid-fielder Jake Seymour was able to slip the ball by the Bentonville keeper to send Eureka ahead in the game, 2-1.

After that point, and literally to the final horn, Bentonville put constant pressure on a tiring Eureka defense. There were numerous near misses by Bentonville, and sweeper Barrett Featherstone had to smartly make a near miraculous save behind keeper Tim Watson to prevent what would have been an equalizing goal by Bentonville.

Fortune was with Eureka, however, as it was simply their night.

"All said, though, the score at the end reflected a much deserved and hard-earned victory by a team comprised of only six seniors on a squad of 20, with half of its players having little, if any, experience playing soccer,"Featherstone said. "Coaches and parents were treated to a very exciting physical, but clean, game of competitive soccer. In every respect, the game fulfilled the intent of high school athletics."


Andy Bieschke, Chris Deschner, Travis Graham, Jose Tapia Jr., Andy Hebert-Brown, Kaleb Killion, Andrew McClung, Nate Seymour, Gerald Dunbar, Jake Seymour, Jose Tapia Sr., C.J. Williams, Patrick Deschner, Barrett Featherstone, Travis Martin, Ryan Murphy, Justin Smith, Tim Watson, Addie German, Mandy Moore.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: