State's Jewish federation schedules awards dinner

Wednesday, January 7, 2004
Jane B. Mendel Tikkun Olam Award

The Jewish Federation of Arkansas will hold its 2004 Campaign Dinner, honoring Phil and Ruthe Kaplan and presented the federations first Jane B. Mendel Tikkun Olam Award winners, on Saturday, Jan. 24, at the Chenal Country Club, with cocktails at 6 p.m. and dinner and program at 7:30.

The awards dinner is the first of its kind in Arkansas, and plans call for it to become an annual event.

Award winners will include Kathy Bauman of the Jewish Federation of Arkansas, Velma Block of Arkansas Hadassah, Rita Carb Fagan of Congregation B'nai Israel, Polly Greenbaum of Congregation Agudath Achim, Jack Goodman of United Hebrew Congregation, Nina Krupitsky of Knowing Our Past Foundation, Derek Mumford of Arkansas Post No. 436 of the Jewish War Veterans of the USA, Nicole O'Neal of Hendrix Hillel, Miriam and David Solomon of Temple Beth El, and Patricia Wise Tanebaum of Congregation House of Israel.

The awards are made possible by a donation from the Tenenbaum Family Foundation to honor those who have given time and energy for the betterment of the Arkansas Jewish Community.

For more information, telephone (501) 663-3571, or e-mail Reservations are $54 each and are due by Jan. 14.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: